Satsang with Giten on Buddha: Bhumis – 10 Steps to Enlightenment: 7. Accepting the Call of the Beyond, The Great Emptiness

Giten, foto, meditation, sten
Satsang with Giten on Buddha:
Bhumis – Ten Steps to Enlightenment
From Satsang Weekend with Giten, March 11-13, 2016, in Stockholm
“Satsang weekend with Giten was a super course. When I read about Satsang weekend with Giten, I just knew that should do this course. I have missed people who really wants go as deep into the inner being that is possible, and in satsang with Giten I found this. So enjoyable to be in this presence. I just wanted to sit, see and be.”
Anne-li Fellman, social scientist and behaviourist, participant in Satsang weekend with Giten, March 11-13, 2016, in Stockholm
Next Satsang Weekend with Giten in Stockholm:
Surrender, June 10-12, 2016
Read more about satsang with Giten on The Giten Blog:
 7. DURANGAMA: Far-goingness, Accepting the Call of the Beyond, The Great Emptiness
The seventh Bhumi is DURANGAMA, which means far-goingness, Accepting the call of the beyond and the great emptiness.
Buddha says: DURANGAMA – Be available to the beyond. Never remain confined to the boundaries, Always trespass boundaries.
The beyond is everywhere. We are surrounded by the beyond. That beyond is God.
The beyond is within, the beyond is without.
The beyond is always here.
But we forget about the beyond, because it is uncomfortable.
To look into the beyond is like looking into an abyss, and one start trembling, one start to become afraid, one start to feel sick.
We avoid the abyss, because the very awareness of the abyss make is tremble.
The real is like an abyss, because the real is a great emptiness.
It is a vast sky with no boundaries.
We make all kinds of imprisonments to avoid the emptiness: power, relationships, beliefs, religion.
These imprisonments are so cozy, because there are no wild winds blowing. There are no wild forest, there are no limitless and boundless ocean.
One feels protected, but death will be coming and drag you into the beyond.
Buddha says: Before death comes, and drags you into the beyond, go on your own.
DURANGAMA is the courage to accept the unknown. It is the courage to go on your own and welcome the beyond.
Then death is no longer death.
A courageous man who goes on his own to the beyond. then the beyond will welcome him.
On the seventh Bhumi, the meditator and bodhisattva, the Buddha in essence, develop the seventh Paramita UPAI, which means skillful means. It is the perfection of skillful means to help others.
On the seventh Bhumi, the meditator also develops the capacity to enter into silence and emptiness for extended periods of time.
On this level the bodhisattva also perfect their skill in means of meditation and practice, which is their capacity to adapt their teaching tactics to the individual proctivities and needs of their audience. They constantly act spontaneous and effectively for the benefits of others.
In Satsang, June 25, 2015, I talked about the Three stages of enlightenment and how they relate to silence and emptiness:

The Art of Living: 

The Three Stages of Enlightenment

These are the three stages of enlightenment, the three glimpses of satori.

1. The first stage enlightenment:
A Glimpse of the Whole

The first stage of enlightenment is short glimpse from faraway of the whole. It is a short glimpse of being.

The first stage of enlightenment is when, for the first time, for a single moment the mind is not functioning. The ordinary ego is still present at the first stage of enlightenment, but you experience for a short while that there is something beyond the ego.

There is a gap, a silence and emptiness, where there is not thought between you and existence.

You and existence meet and merge for a moment.

And for the first time the seed, the thirst and longing, for enlightenment, the meeting between you and existence, will grow in your heart. 

2. The second stage of enlightenment:
Silence, Relaxation, Togetherness, Inner Being

The second stage of enlightenment is a new order, a harmony, from within, which comes from the inner being. It is the quality of freedom.
The inner chaos has disappeared and a new silence, relaxation and togetherness has arisen.

Your own wisdom from within has arisen.
A subtle ego is still present in the second stage of enlightenment.

The Hindus has three names for the ego:
1. Ahamkar, which is the ordinary ego.
2. Asmita, which is the quality of Am-ness, of no ego. It is a very silent ego, not aggreessive, but it is still a subtle ego.
3. Atma, the third word is Atma, when the Am-ness is also lost. This is what Buddha callas no-self, pure being.

In the second stage of enlightenment you become capable of being in the inner being, in the gap, in the meditative quality within, in the silence and emptiness.

For hours, for days, you can remain in the gap, in utter aloneness, in God.

 Still you need effort to remain in the gap, and if you drop the effort, the gap will disappear.

Love, meditation and prayer becomes the way to increase the effort in the search for God.

Then the second stage becomes a more conscious effort. Now you know the way, you now the direction. 

3. The third stage of enlightenment:
Ocean, Wholeness, No-self, Pure being

At the third stage of enlightenment, at the third step of Satori, our individual river flowing silently, suddenly reaches to the Ocean and becomes one with the Ocean.

At the third Satori, the ego is lost, and there is Atma, pure being. You are, but without any boundaries. The river has become the Ocean, the Whole.

 It has become a vast emptiness, just like the pure sky.

The third stage of enlightenment happens when you have become capable of finding the inner being, the meditative quality within, the gap, the inner silence and emptiness, so that it becomes a natural quality.

 You can find the gap whenever you want.

This is what tantra callas Mahamudra, the great orgasm, what Buddha calls Nirvana, what Lao Tzu calls Tao and what Jesus calls the kingdom of God.

You have found the door to God.

You have come home.

– Swami Dhyan Giten


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s